Utterly Meaningless » Blog Archive » I GOT A DRIVER, AND THAT’S A START
  • I GOT A DRIVER, AND THAT’S A START

    Filed at 10:16 am under by dcobranchi

    This amuses me no end:

    Home-schooled students could take drivers’ education from a parent or guardian under a bill passed Wednesday by the Iowa House.

    […]

    Opponents of the bill, mainly Democrats, said drivers’ education is too important to leave to uncertified teachers.

    Rep. Mary Mascher, D-Iowa City, blasted the bill for giving home schooled students special status.

    “This bill is discriminatory. It allows one group of parents to do something another group isn’t allowed to do,” she said.

    Rep. Don Shoultz, D-Waterloo, questioned whether parents, especially those who haven’t taken drivers’ education themselves, would be able to effectively teach how to drive safely.

    Roll that last sentence around your mind for a few moments and you’ll be laughing too.

    (I actually do agree it’s discriminatory — all parents should be able to teach it themselves. When it comes down to it, don’t they already?)

    7 Responses to “I GOT A DRIVER, AND THAT’S A START”


    Comment by
    Lisa in Chicago
    March 24th, 2005
    at 10:47 am

    Yeah, how are the parents going to get their hands on those MADD videos showing the horrors of drunk driving? Without those, how could they possibly be safe drivers?

    Please.


    Comment by
    Eric Holcombe
    March 24th, 2005
    at 10:57 am

    Ahhh, more liberty and freedom courtesy of the “party of choice”. Nothing says ‘vote for me’ like telling your constituents they are too stupid to drive a car.


    Comment by
    Tad
    March 24th, 2005
    at 11:40 am

    Brings back memories of Coach Condie, my barely literate driver’s ed teacher. He gave me a D because I refused to copy the drivers’ handbook verbatim.


    Comment by
    Daryl
    March 24th, 2005
    at 12:02 pm

    As bad as HS driver’s ed was, it paled in comparison to school bus driver training. Yes, I drove a school bus while I was in HS. In fact, I think I had only had my regular license for six months when I got my bus license. School bus driver was typically a gig for the dumber football players; I’m not sure how I slipped in.

    A favorite activity among the drivers was seeing if we could somehow override the governor to increase the speed beyond the legal maximum of 35 mph. Mine would do 60 on a good day.

    I only got into one accident in my time driving. I was the middle of a three bus caravan across town. The lead bus spotted a friend driving the other way and slammed on his brakes, leaving skips marks about 60 feet long (no governor on that bus either). I stopped about at the point that his skid marks started. The third bus didn’t stop at all. After the crash, bus one took off to leave me to deal with the cops. The cop looks at my bus with the skid marks in front of the wheels and asks if I was running in reverse.

    You didn’t have to be very smart to drive a bus or to be a cop.


    Comment by
    The Hearn
    March 24th, 2005
    at 4:21 pm

    Considering the quality of drivers on the roads these days that DID take driver’s ed, I don’t find this terribly concerning.

    I guarantee I’d be able to teach car control, safety, and the all important CONSIDERATION OF OTHER DRIVERS, which is completely ignored in today’s driver’s education courses.


    Comment by
    Heidi
    March 24th, 2005
    at 7:58 pm

    Iowa law provides a learner’s permit at age 14, after passing a written test.

    A driver’s license is issued at age 16 after taking a driver’s class and passing a written and practical test.

    At age 18, the course is no longer required, simply passing the state driver’s written and practical driving tests are enough.

    But many don’t want to wait until they are 18.

    Public school driver’s ed classes have long waiting lists nowadays, I’m told, and many kids pay to take the class at community colleges.

    Here’s one CC course description:

    High School Drivers Education
    This program is state mandated for any persons under the age of 18 who wish to drive a personal vehicle. It is 30 hours of classroom and 6 hours of driving.

    State requirements for driving time. Besides the 6 hours of driving given by drivers education, the state of Iowa mandates that the students have a minimum of 14 hours with parent or guardian. 2 hours of which must be night time driving after sundown.

    Minimum requirements: 14 years of age and valid Iowa Learners Permit

    Tuition
    Tuition for both school year and summer drivers education is $345.00.


    Comment by
    Charlotte
    March 29th, 2005
    at 11:21 am

    Actually, what I found amusing was a statement made by the chief of police in Davenport who said that drivers’s ed teachers were accountable for the success of their students for many years after they finished the course. I couldn’t help but wonder if things were different in Iowa. Can drivers’ ed teachers be held liable if one of their former students is at fault in an accident? I’d never heard of such a thing. And if they are, wouldn’t it make more sense to make the license examiner accountable for issuing the license? And if the parent were they instructor why would they be any less liable than a licensed instructor? Just another case of trotting out an “expert” who really doesn’t know what he’s talking about (or does he – maybe things ARE different in Iowa). I wonder how many people fall for that…